NORTHROP F-5

1700 km/h

maximum speed

4448 kp

maximum thrust

1056 km

range of action

HISTORY

The F-5 Tiger J-3057, the aircraft of the first series, is still in the inventory of the Swiss Air Force. In the mid-1980s, it was modified along with all the other F-5s in the first series to bring them up to the standard of the second series. He then received enlarged Leading Edge Extensions (LEX) and a flat nose (Shark Nose).

The J-3057 was loaned to the Austrian Air Force where it flew from February 2005 to 24 July 2008, with an Austrian national emblem, but with the registration J-3057. In April 2015, 10 F-5s, including J-3057, were taken out of service due to cracks in the structure. In March 2016, the Military Aviation Museum in Payerne received the J-3057 on loan.

With the development of the F-5 series, Northrop interrupted the trend to build ever larger and more expensive aircraft in order to compete with the Soviet Mig series. Since 1959, when the first prototype flew away for the first time, there have been three generations of this versatile fighter aircraft. The F-5 A/B series as well as the two-seat T-38 drive version, the F-5E series (from which the Swiss model was derived) and the F-5G variant, later renamed F-20 Tigershark, a model that has not yet reached the prototype stage.

The concept of this aircraft was to build a light and agile fighter aircraft, small in size, but with supersonic performance. Originally intended for export to equip Allied air forces, it has also been used to train US pilots in air combat. Ordered in 110 units (including 12 two-seater aircraft) by our country, it is the main instrument for the defence of our airspace.

TECHNICAL DATA SHEET

Committed: 1976 to 2015
Mission: training and air coverage
Reactor: 2 General Electric J85-GE-21A
Max. thrust: 4’448 kp

Maximum take-off weight: 11’180 kg
Maximum speed: 1’700 km/h
Ceiling: 15’590 m/sea
Range of action: 1’056 km

OTHER AIRCRAFTS ON DISPLAY

THE CLIN D’AILES MUSEUM

LOCATION

MILITARY AVIATION MUSEUM OF PAYERNE
BASE AÉRIENNE – 1530 PAYERNE VD
SWITZERLAND

GPS

N 46°50’35” (46.84285) / E 6° 54’45” (6.91224)

OPENING HOURS

JUNE : WEDNESDAY TO SATURDAY : 13H30-17H00

JULY – AUGUST : WEDNESDAY TO SUNDAY : 13H30-17H00

SEPTEMBER – OCTOBER : TUESDAY TO SUNDAY 13H30-17H00

NOVEMBER – MARCH : WEDNESDAY AND SATURDAY 13H30-17H00

CLIN D’AILES MUSEUM CONTACT

TÉL +0041 26 662 1533
INFO@CLINDAILES.CH

ESPACE PASSION CONTACT

COPYRIGHT © 2020 CLIN D’AILES. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

NORTHROP F-5

1700 km/h

Max. Geschwindigkeit

4448 kp

Max. Schub

1056 km

Aktionsradius

GESCHICHTE

Die F-5 Tiger J-3057, ein Flugzeug der ersten Serie, befindet sich noch im Inventar der Schweizer Luftwaffe. Mitte der 1980er Jahre wurde es gleichzeitig mit allen anderen F-5 der ersten Serie modifiziert, um es auf den Standard der zweiten Serie zu bringen. Anschließend erhielt es vergrößerte Leading Edge Extensions (LEX) und eine abgeflachte Nase (Shark Nose).

Die J-3057 wurde an die österreichische Luftwaffe ausgeliehen, wo sie von Februar 2005 bis 24. Juli 2008 unter österreichischem Hoheitszeichen flog, wobei jedoch die Immatrikulation J-3057 beibehalten wurde. Im April 2015 wurden 10 F-5, einschließlich der J-3057, aufgrund von Rissen in der Struktur ausser Betrieb genommen. Im März 2016 erhielt das Musée de l’Aviation Militaire de Payerne die J-3057 als Leihgabe.

Mit der Entwicklung der F-5-Serie stoppte die Firma Northrop den Trend, immer größere und immer teurere Flugzeuge zu bauen, um der sowjetischen Mig-Serie standhalten zu können. Seit 1959 und dem Erstflug des Prototyps, wurden drei Generationen dieses vielseitigen Kampfflugzeugs gebaut. Die F-5 A / B-Serie sowie die Zweisitzer-Trainingsversion T-38, die F-5E-Serie (aus der das Schweizer Modell stammt) und die F-5G-Variante, die später in F-20 Tigershark umbenannt wurde. Ein Modell, das nicht weiter als ins Prototypen-Stadium kam.

Das Konzept dieses Flugzeugs bestand darin, einen leichten und agilen Jäger mit kleinen Abmessungen, aber Überschallleistungen zu bauen. Ursprünglich für den Export bestimmt, um die Luftstreitkräfte der alliierten Länder auszurüsten, wurde es auch verwendet, um US-Piloten im Luftkampf auszubilden. Es wurde von unserem Land mit 110 Exemplaren (davon 12 Zweisitzer) bestellt und ist das Hauptinstrument zur Verteidigung unseres Luftraums.

TECHNISCHES DATENBLATT

Eingesetzt : von 1976 bis 2015
Einsatz: Ausbildung und Raumschutz
Triebwerk: 2 General Electric J85-GE-21A
Max. Schub: 4’448 kp

Max. Abfluggewicht: 11’180 kg
Max. Geschwindigkeit: 1’700 km/h
Max Einsatzhöhe 15’590 m/mer
Aktionsradius: 1’056 km

WEITERE AUSGESTELLTE FLUGGERÄTE

DAS MUSEUM CLIN D’AILES

STANDORT

MUSÉE DE L’AVIATION MILITAIRE DE PAYERNE
BASE AÉRIENNE – 1530 PAYERNE VD
SUISSE

GPS

N 46°50’35“ (46.84285) / E 6° 54’45“ (6.91224)

ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN

JUNI : MITTWOCH BIS SAMSTAG 13H30-17H00

JULI – AUGUST : MITTWOCH BIS SONNTAG 13H30-17H00

SEPTEMBER – OKTOBER : DIENSTAG BIS SONNTAG 13H30-17H00

NOVEMBER – MÄRZ : MITTWOCH UND SAMSTAG 13H30-17H00

KONTAKT MUSEUM CLIN D’AILES

TEL +0041 26 662 1533
INFO@CLINDAILES.CH

KONTAKT ESPACE PASSION

COPYRIGHT © 2020 CLIN D’AILES. ALLE RECHTE VORBEHALTEN